High commissions in Zambia

High Commissions represent countries which, like Zambia, are part of the Commonwealth. A Commonwealth country’s High Commission is its embassy to Zambia. The head of each High Commission is the High Commissioner (equal in status to an ambassador). Each mission provides a link between Zambia and the individual country concerned. The Commonwealth is an intergovernmental organisation of fifty-four independent member states. All but two of these countries were formerly part of the British Empire. The member states co-operate within a framework of common values and goals, which include the promotion of democracy, human rights, good governance, the rule of law, individual liberty, egalitarianism, free trade, multilateralism and world peace.